A unique feature of Calumet and Hecla's H&TLRR was the incline for moving ore from the top of the bluff above Lake Linden to the stamping mills below.
The drop was considered too steep for a conventional railroad, so this gravity system was built to lower rock cars via cables to the mills below.
This system operated until 1885, when C&H surveyed and built a direct line.
The sign above the entry way in the first photo reads:
"No passengers are transported on this railroad. All persons riding on the cars do so at their own risk. Signed J.N. Wright, Superintendent"
Copper Country Reflections | home
Click arrows to go through series. Use the UP arrow to go back to photos main page.