From the Copper Island Sentinel November 22, 1979
Crestview opened to the public on June 19, 1909. It was located between Phoenix and Eagle River on a bluff overlooking Lake Superior.
The resort was owned and operated by the Keweenaw Central Railroad and offered a new place for the residents of the Copper Country to enjoy the great Keweenaw. It was unique in that it was the only local structure designed in the "Mission" style.
The railroad ran 5 trains a day from Calumet, allowing a great number of people to visit.
It was reported that well over 1,800 people attended on opening day, forcing the restaurant to quickly run out of all food!